2011 Booster Seat Updates

2011 GEORGIA BOOSTER SEAT LAW CHANGES

 

The Franklin Police Department has recently received an increase in questions and concerns regarding changes to the Georgia Booster Seat Law that will take effect on July 1, 2011. We encourage citizens to be informed of these very important changes and if they have questions to please not hesitate to contact our department or visit the departmental website at franklingapolice.com. Additional information can also be viewed on the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety website at www.gohs.state.ga.us

  

Children under age 8 must be properly secured in an approved car seat or booster seat while riding in passenger automobiles, vans and pickup trucks.

 

The car seat and/or booster seat must:

  • Be in the rear seat (some exceptions apply)
  • Be appropriate for the child’s weight and height
  • Meet all federal standards
  • Be installed and used according to the manufacturer’s instructions

 

Exemptions:

  • Children under age 8 whose height is over 4’9” or 57”
  • Parent or guardian has a written statement from a physician that the child has a physical or medical condition that prevents placing or restraining them as required by law

 

Exceptions:

A child under age 8 and weighing at least 40 pounds is not exempt from the law. They may use a lap belt only instead of a car seat or booster seat when:

  • The vehicle is not equipped with lap and shoulder belts;

      or

  • Excluding the driver’s seat, all seating positions with lap and shoulder belts are being used to restrain other children. In this case, the placement of car seats / booster seats should be evaluated to determine if they can be repositioned to provide the best protection for all children being transported.

 

Fine:

1st conviction – not more than $50

2nd and subsequent convictions – not more that $100

 

Points:

1st conviction – 1 point

2nd and subsequent convictions – 2 points

 

For more information and for a printable flyer, please click here.